Menu
Japanese scroll

Japanese


Why Learn Japanese?

Japanese is spoken by more than 130 million people, mainly in Japan, but also by Japanese emigrant communities around the world. It is distinguished by a complex system of honorifics reflecting the hierarchical nature of Japanese society, with verb forms and particular vocabulary to indicate the relative status of speaker, listener, and the person mentioned in conversation. The earliest record of Japanese is in a Chinese document from 252 A.D. A vast number of words were borrowed from Chinese or created from Chinese models over at least 1,500 years. Since the late 19th century, Japanese has borrowed a considerable number of words from Indo-European languages, primarily English.

Mt. SAC offers beginning and intermediate, university-transferable Japanese language courses that include both verbal and written learning, taught by native speakers in both English and Japanese.


Course Offerings

Japanese (JAPN)


Faculty

Name Phone Email
Keiko Tsurumi (Program coordinator) 909-274-4581 ktsurumi@mtsac.edu
Don Lee 909-274-6344 dlee264@mtsac.edu
Natsuyo Higuchi   nhiguchi@mtsac.edu
Yumi Parks   yparks@mtsac.edu
Emi Okubo   eokubo@mtsac.edu
Saito Saeko   ssaito@mtsac.edu
Saori Tauchi   stauchi@mtsac.edu
Keiko Appel   kappel@mtsac.edu
Yuki Minekawa   yminekawa@mtsac.edu
Ken Shima   kshima1@mtsac.edu
Yuco Saigusa    

 


Fall 2022 Japanese Tutoring Schedule

On Campus

Day Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Saturday
Tutor  Takenaka Takenaka Takenaka Safavi Safavi
Time 12-2pm 2:15-4:15pm 2:15-4:15pm 12-2pm 9am-4pm
Location 66-248 66-267 26D-3481 77-1040 ASAC 6-101 South Entrance
           
Tutor Safavi   Safavi    
Time 11am-2pm, 6:40-7:40pm   4:30-5:30pm    
Location North End Library, 77-1070   26D-3481    
           

 

Online

Day Monday Wednesday
Tutor Uyeki Uyeki
Time 4-5pm 4-5pm
Location Zoom Link available on your Canvas course page  Zoom Link available on your Canvas course page